Motorcycle Title and Registration in New Jersey
What do you need to register a motorcycle in New Jersey?
You must provide a primary form of identity, such as a birth certificate or a U.S. passport, plus a secondary form, such as a New Jersey driver’s license or U.S. military ID. You also have to provide a Social Security card or taxpayer-identification number plus proof of residency, which could be a pay stub, lease agreement, mortgage, or utility bill. Proof of insurance is also required.
Do I need insurance to register a motorcycle in NJ?
You must insure a motorcycle before registering it in New Jersey. You cannot complete the application for registration or title without providing proof of insurance.
Can I register a motorcycle without a license?
You can register a motorcycle for off-road use in New Jersey without having a New Jersey driver’s license. You would need to provide another type of ID, which could include a state-issued ID or a U.S. military ID.
Can you register a motorcycle without a title?
You can register a motorcycle without a title in New Jersey by submitting a manufacturer’s certificate of origin or a notarized bill of sale provided by the prior owner and that describes the motorcycle. You also could register the motorcycle by completing an Improper Evidence of Ownership Procedure.
How do I get a motorcycle title?
You must go to a NJ Motor Vehicles Commission location, submit the documentation needed to register and title a motorcycle in New Jersey and pay the requisite fee.
How much does it cost to register a motorcycle?
In 2022, the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission charges $65 to register a motorcycle in the state.
What is the penalty for riding a motorcycle without an endorsement?
You could be fined up to $500 for riding a motorcycle on public roads in New Jersey without a motorcycle endorsement or valid motorcycle permit.
Do ATVs need to be registered?
ATVs must be registered and insured to ride them on public land in New Jersey.
Does NJ require a title for ATV?
New Jersey does not require a title for an ATV but does require registration and insurance to ride on public land in the state.
Do you need to register a 50cc moped?
All mopeds are 49cc and must be titled, registered, and insured to ride in New Jersey.
Do you need to register a 50cc scooter?
A 50cc scooter must be titled, registered, and insured to ride on public roads in New Jersey.
How much is it to register a quad?
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission charges $34 for residents and $38 for non-residents to register an ATV, also known as a quad, in the state.
This article has been provided for informational purposes only and is based on the most reliable information available on the date of publication.