When Do You Need a Motorcycle License in New Jersey?

Most motorcycles in the state of New Jersey require that you have either a motorcycle license that is separate from your driver’s license or an endorsement on your driver’s license for a motorcycle.  Many people want to know when do you need a motorcycle license in New Jersey?

Any bike, trike, motorcycle, motorbike, or any other item with an engine on it is considered a motorcycle and requires a license or endorsement for you to legally drive it on the road. One exception to this rule is that a motorcycle with a top speed of 35 MPH can only be operated on a roadway with a posted speed limit of 35 MPH and you don’t need a license or endorsement in this case.

How Long Does it Take to Get a Motorcycle License in NJ with a license from another state?

The process can be very quick if you have a motorcycle license that is valid in another state and you move to NJ. You surrender your old license and provide proof of identification and residency and pay the fee. If your out-of-state license is expired, you will need to pass the road test which normally needs to be scheduled and then you pay the fee.

How Much Does it Cost to Get a Motorcycle License?

In 2022, the fee for a motorcycle license in New Jersey is $24 and for the motorcycle endorsement on your driver’s license, the fee is $42. Your motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement is valid for 4 years.

Can You Buy a Motorcycle Without a License?

You do not need a motorcycle license in New Jersey to purchase a new or used motorcycle from a dealership or an individual. However, to ride it and be compliant with state laws, you must first register it with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJMVC). Take your proof of residency, the title, a bill of sale, and your application for registration to the NJMVC. You will then receive your license plate in the mail. You will also need insurance and your motorcycle permit, license, or endorsement to use it on the roadways in New Jersey.

Do You Need a License For a Moped?

If your moped has a top speed of 25MPH on flat ground and a small 1.5 brake horsepower with a helper motor, then you don’t need to secure a motorcycle license. You can operate your moped with your regular driver’s license in NJ or with a moped permit or license if you are at least 15 years of age.  You do need to title and register the moped in your name. You are also required to obtain liability insurance for your moped.  Get a moped insurance quote here.

How Do You Get a Moped License?

If you don’t have a New Jersey driver’s license, you will need to get a permit first and then a moped license. To get the permit, you must pass a vision exam, a written test on mopeds, the standard written driving test, and then you can get your permit. The permit is valid for 45 days and then you can take the road test and get your moped license.

Do You Need a License For a Scooter?

In New Jersey, a scooter falls under the definition of a motorcycle and you do need either a motorcycle license or an endorsement on your driver’s license to be compliant with the law. Your scooter should also be registered and insured. Click here to get a scooter insurance quote.

Do You Need a Motorcycle License for a Dirt Bike?

In New Jersey, a dirt bike is any two-wheeled motorcycle that is designed for use off-road only and does not comply with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards or the United States Environmental Protection Agency on-road emissions standards.  A dirt bike should not exceed 600cc and you don’t need a motorcycle license to operate one. However, you are required to register the vehicle. In New Jersey, there are limited places to operate your dirt bike on public land.  Dirt bikes are not permitted in all New Jersey state parks and forests.  To find out more information on places to ride dirt bikes in New Jersey, contact the Division of Parks and Forestry at (800) 843-6420.

Do You Need a Motorcycle License for an ATV?

A motorcycle license is not required to operate an ATV in New Jersey.  The ATV will need to be registered and insured to ride on public land.  Like dirt bikes, ATV use is prohibited in state parks and forests in New Jersey.  Contact (800) 843-6420 to find out where you can ride an ATV in New Jersey. 

What CC Requires a Motorcycle License in NJ?

Any motorized bike, such as a moped that has a top speed of 25 miles per hour and an engine that is 50cc or less does not require a motorcycle license or endorsement.  You can operate it with a standard driver’s license or permit, or a moped permit if you are at least 15 years old.


This article has been provided for informational purposes only and is based on the most reliable information available on the date of publication.